Transformers TCG

Wave 5 FAQ

Head Mode & Body Mode
Hybrid Battle Icon
  • Some battle cards in this set have a new style of battle icons: hybrids. These battle icons have a both a color and the symbol of a trait. For example, the battle card Nitro Booster has a black Car battle icon. Hybrid battle icons always count as their color, except if they're flipped in battle for a character that doesn't match their trait, that battle icon will have no effect that battle.
  • Yes. For example, Mindwipe - Hypnotist (body mode) is a melee character that has an ability that triggers "when this attacks and flip at least one black battle icon." If Mindwipe attacks and you flip Master of Metallikato (a battle card with a black ranged battle icon), Mindwipe's ability will trigger, even though the black battle icon will have no effect.
Fortress Maximus - Great War Veteran
  • No. Fortress Maximus is just like other character cards with a body, except it's bigger, and it must have Cerebros as its head. Cerebros is unique in that it has both a head mode and a body mode. So it starts the game attached to Fortress Maximus, but you also get another head to put onto Cerebros. This can be Emissary or any other character with a head mode.
    The stars from all three cards count toward the 25-star limit. Note that Fortress Maximus, Cerebros, and Emissary have 25 stars combined.
  • While Fortress Maximus is on the battlefield, it gets the Bold 1, Tough 1 bonus from Cerebros, but it doesn't get the bonus from the other head attached to Cerebros. That head's bonus will apply to Cerebros after it's deployed.
  • If Fortress Maximus is KO'd, you put Cerebros back onto the battlefield in body mode, with its head still attached. Because a character can't flip into head mode, Cerebros won't be able to flip while it's on the battlefield. If Cerebros is KO'd, you put its head onto the battlefield in bot mode.
  • Yes. Emissary is just like other character cards that have a head mode and a bot mode.
Autobot Nautica - Camien Engineer
Autobot Whirl - Aerial Assault
Beachcomber - Geologist
Crankcase - Data Collector
Horri-Bull - Ground Trooper
Megatron - Fallen Hero
Mindwipe - Hypnotist
Topspin - Air & Space Assault
  • Traits are things like Melee, Leader, or Tank. They usually appear as tabbed icons near the character's name.
Tracks - Autobot Warrior
Wingspan - Data Processor
  • The cards under Wingspan are basically out of play and are used to count the bonus for Wingspan's alt mode ability. They're not considered on the battlefield, even if that's where they are physically, so none of their abilities apply. Those Upgrades aren't on Wingspan, and so on. They're also not in your scrap pile, so they won't be shuffled into your deck when it's empty.
Blade Flurry
Conversion Expertise
Crystal of Power
Energon Mace
Enhanced Power Cell
Escape Capsule
Ghost Shield
High Five
  • Traits are things like Melee, Leader, or Tank. They usually appear as tabbed icons near the character's name.
Intrusion Countermeasures Software
Lose the Initiative
Lucky Dodge
Master Sword
Regenerative Core
  • Those damage counters simply track how many times you can use Regenerative Core's ability. Those damage counters aren't on the upgraded character, so other effects can't remove them. The counters also aren't removed if the upgraded character is repaired.
Speed Trap
Spymaster's Ruse
Trithyllium Shield